Review: The Duke’s Unexpected Bride by Lara Temple

The Duke’s Unexpected Bride 
by Lara Temple

The Blurb

From country miss…to London duchess!

Sophie Trevelyan has been enjoying her visit to London, even if her closest companion is an overweight pug! Then she encounters the dashing Duke of Harcourt, who intrigues her more than is strictly proper…

Max knows he must marry. He’s looking for the opposite of his high-spirited fiancée, who died some years ago, so he tries to keep his distance from bubbly Sophie. But when her life is endangered, Max feels compelled to rescue her…with a very unexpected proposal!


The Review

This regency romance whole-heartedly champions being different and loving ourselves for who we are. My first Lara Temple title but, oh my, will I be going back for more.

Our hero Max Harcourt, well… Any man that makes their significant other feel free to be themselves, is a winner in my eyes! And this hero is a winner! He is cool and composed, with deep dark secrets that keep him in complete control of his carefully planned life. But control is lost when the ‘peculiar’, “eccentric blue-eyed sprite” Sophie Trevelyan brings him to heel.

Sophie Trevelyan a heroine I’d happily hang out with in my P.J’s or have a girls night out on the town. Adorable, honest and compassionate. But still full of fire and a complete love for life. Her character is infectious and made me want to break out laughing on several occasions. I do love a woman that can’t curb her tongue but in the most sincere way… I can see why she completely had our hero Max in a tale-spin.

‘…She is my betrothed and if I see you near her again or hear that you even mentioned her name I will break your hand. With pleasure.’

Oh me, oh my! Violence is never becoming, unless, it is completely justifiable. This threat is completely justifiable and highlights Max loosing his control to protect our heroine! And I have to confess, I was cheering him on at this point. He is the all round hero that you would want to take home to your Mum but just as quickly somewhere less innocent.

A regency romance set to rocket your pulse and have you swooning over characters that deserve your undivided attention! Sophisticated and sexy but also endearing and funny. Riveting. Without a doubt, 5/5 stars from me.

Such clever writing. And what a plot! Go on read it!

Pre-order it here: The Duke’s Unexpected Bride by Lara Temple

Leave a Reply

